My Characters and YAVP/YASD

The tower awaits!

My Characters and YAVP/YASD

Postby Elysium » Mon Aug 07, 2017 7:49 pm

I've been playing Demon for some time, since like January 2017, and I have to say, Demon is amazing. It rates among my five top roguelikes of all time (the other four are Caves of Qud, ToME, DCSS, and NetHack). I have to commend FerretDev for being one of the greatest roguelike developers of all time for his commitment to the game and to addressing the concerns of every player. I love how every elemental attribute has its own shtick (Fire for Scorch and healing, Ice for slowing enemies and mitigating their power, Light and Dark for their Miens, Slash mainly for applying buffs on strike, Impact for debuffs, Pierce for range) and how every element is balanced and offers an alternative playstyle. It reminds me of DCSS's magic and weapons system in that regard.
My most successful summoner so far has been a Divine Heart with a Light-focused build and a few light/dark miens thrown in. They got slain by Madevra though... Her Light immunity meant that I had nothing to throw against her, and she slew my Dryad almost instantly while my Shoggoth plinked uselessly against her... Well, it was only Tower: 7, what did I expect. She then charged me down and slew me in a few short, painful turns. I have no idea how to get the character sheet though... Anyone have any idea how to do so on a Mac build?

Edit: Just found out how to... It's F10... Dang, I lost the character sheet now since I started up a new summoner... phooey.
Elysium

Re: My Characters and YAVP/YASD

Postby Saler » Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:19 pm

Welcome, Elysium! :D
Some skills can be noticably stronger than others, but they are harder to use because they require more skills to be at full power. This is most obvious with Blight and various Breaths. They are decent skills by themselves, but with enough investment with other skills, they can become absolutely devastating!